As a kid I wanted to be a Candombe dancer

December 5, 2007

Hi everyone!

Well, here I am… it took a long time to get here.
I wanted to have a blog, but wasn’t sure about the language problem… finally I decided to write in English and may be a couple of stories deserve a Spanish translation too.

If you are wondering about the name “Candombera” is related to Candombe. I am lazy to explain, so I searched for it in Wikipedia and it says:
Candombe is a drum-based musical style of Uruguay. Candombe originated among the Afro-Uruguayan population of Montevideo and is based on Bantu AfricanEuropean influence and touches of Tango.

Got it? I’d better post a video about it.

Candombe is part of my childhood memories, as my grandma used to sing these songs to me.

May be this is enough for a start! I’ll be posting more stuff here soon.

Enjoy your visit and tell me something…

Cheers

Hola a todos!

Bueno aca estoy… me llevo un largo tiempo llegar hasta aqui.

Siempre quise tener un blog, pero no estaba segura acerca del idioma… finalmente me decidi a escribir en ingles y quizas un par de historias merezcan una traduccion al español. (eso si, no esperen acentos porque es complicado en este teclado).

Los hispano parlantes no necesitan una explicacion sobre que es Candombe, asi que voy a ahorrarme traducir este parrafo.

Candome forma parte de mis recuerdos de infancia (psicoanalizados comenten tranquilos). Mi abuela solia cantarme candombes.

Creo que esto es suficiente para empezar! Voy a ir actualizando de a poco este espacio.

Disfruten la visita y cuentenme algo…

Saludos

4 Responses to “As a kid I wanted to be a Candombe dancer”

  1. Guille Says:

    Felicitaciones x el blog! Las fotos estan buenisimas!!! Gui

  2. deb Says:

    Buenisimo..sabes que tengo una addiccion a los blogs ! Ya te agrego a mi lista de bloglines asi me mantengo al tanto😉 Segui escribiendo que esta re bueno !
    Un beso
    Deb

  3. va16960552 Says:

    Hey Im in a candombe group! Check it out. Candombe Urumbe on Youtube.🙂

Leave a Reply

