Day 4 of the Ration Challenge. Half way there!

IMG_8970

I’m on Day 4 of the Ration Challenge and I’ve been eating rice for breakfast, lunch and dinner almost everyday. I have no snacks, as they’re flat breads and I prefer to save them for the main meals.

I had earned 2 teaspoons of instant coffee that I’ve already used, and 8 tea bags that I’m re-using so that I can get more than 2 cups of tea a day. And heaps of water. Never drank so much water in my life.

Thanks to the generosity of my sponsors yesterday, I earned an onion (yay!) to use in the next few days. Just a tiny little onion made an amazing difference to the rice. It was like heaven!

In spite of the food being bland, I enjoy my meals with a sense of gratitude. A lot of people eat this diet every day, for life. Why should I be complaining (1st world problems) when I’m only doing this for a week?

This is a humbling experience and will change the way I appreciate food forever. We are so privileged to live in a country full of opportunities. Let’s do something for others. It’s the least we can do.

I can also tell you that I’m fully experiencing the “rice-brain” effect. My brain is not functioning properly, and it’s not the lack of coffee.

The good news: Together we’ve already raised an incredible $2,698,994 – enough to feed more than 9,372 refugees for an entire year. 3 more days to go!

Together we can show refugees that despite what our politicians and the media might say, we’re prepared to do what it takes to help others in need.

For more information, please visit my fundraising page.

Leave a Reply

